2017 Winter School Subject List

Data Structures (INFO1105) - Applications Closed

Faculty: Engineering and Information Technologies
Department: Information Technologies
Level: Undergraduate
Credit Points: 6

Instructors:
(1) Dr John Stavrakakis - john.stavrakakis@sydney.edu.au

Contacts:
(1) Dr John Stavrakakis - john.stavrakakis@sydney.edu.au

Start Date: 05 Dec 2016 
End Date: 24 Jan 2017 
Capacity: 100 
Status: Applications Closed 
Applications Open: 04 Oct 2016 
Applications Close: 21 Nov 2016 
Census date: 03 Jan 2017 
On-time withdrawals close: 03 Jan 2017 
Available to audit: No
Open to HSC graduates?: No

Prerequisites:

  1. Prerequisite: - 

    INFO1103 or INFO1903

Description

The unit will teach some powerful ideas that are central to quality software: data abstraction and recursion. It will also show how one can analyse the scalability of algorithms using mathematical tools of asymptotic notation. Contents include: both external “interface” view, and internal “implementation” details, for commonly used data structures, including lists, stacks, queues, priority queues, search trees, hash tables, and graphs; asymptotic analysis of algorithm scalability, including use of recurrence relations to analyse recursive code. This unit covers the way information is represented in each structure, algorithms for manipulating the structure, and analysis of asymptotic complexity of the operations. Outcomes include: ability to write code that recursively performs an operation on a data structure; experience designing an algorithmic solution to a problem using appropriate data structures, coding the solution, and analysing its complexity.

Assessment

Quiz, Assignment (computer exercise), 2hr exam

Timetable

Start Date: 05 Dec 2016     End Date: 24 Jan 2017

Lectures:

Electrical Engineering Lecture Theatre 351

Mon 05 Dec 2016 - 09:00-11:00 hrs
Wed 07 Dec 2016 - 09:00-11:00 hrs
Fri 09 Dec 2016 - 09:00-11:00 hrs

Mon 12 Dec 2016 - 09:00-11:00 hrs
Wed 14 Dec 2016 - 09:00-11:00 hrs

Wed 04 Jan 2017 - 09:00-11:00 hrs
Fri 06 Jan 2017 - 09:00-11:00 hrs

Mon 09 Jan 2017 - 09:00-11:00 hrs
Wed 11 Jan 2017 - 09:00-11:00 hrs

Mon 16 Jan 2017 - 09:00-11:00 hrs

Tutorials:

Mon 05 Dec - Wed 17th Dec 2016 ONLY

Link Building 122, 222 (North), 222 (South), Madsen Computer Labs 211 & 226

Mon 05 Dec 2016 - 13:00-15:00 hrs
Wed 07 Dec 2016 - 13:00-15:00 hrs
Thu 08 Dec 2016 - 13:00-15:00 hrs
Fri 09 Dec 2016 - 13:00-15:00 hrs

Mon 12 Dec 2016 - 13:00-15:00 hrs
Wed 14 Dec 2016 - 13:00-15:00 hrs
Fri 16 Dec 2016 - 13:00-15:00 hrs

From - Wed 04 Jan - Wed 11 Jan 2017:

Abercrombie Business School Building Learning Studios 3100 & 3120 AND Link Building 122 AND Madsen Computer Labs 211 & 226

Wed 04 Jan 2017 - 13:00-15:00 hrs
Thu 05 Jan 2017 - 13:00-15:00 hrs
Fri 06 Jan 2017 - 13:00-15:00 hrs

Mon 09 Jan 2017 - 13:00-15:00 hrs
Tue 10 Jan 2017 - 13:00-15:00 hrs
Wed 11 Jan 2017 - 13:00-15:00 hrs

Mon 16th Jan 2017 Only

Abercrombie Business School Building Learning Studios 3100 AND Link Building 122 AND Madsen Computer Labs 211 & 226

Mon 16 Jan 2017 - 13:00-15:00 hrs

Final Exam:

Abercrombie Business School Case Study Lecture Theatre 2140.

Tue 24 Jan 2017 - 09:50-12:00 hrs

Texts

Data structures and algorithms in Java 6th Edition, Michael Goodrich and Robert Tamassia.